Mini Donuts Mega Flavor

Almond Frosted Chocolate (mini) Donuts w/ Toffee Crumbles

So this idea really started because I was walking around Michael’s on my way home…and I’m not sure if you know, but they have a fabulous baking section.  It’s great for inspiration.  They have all the tools you need.  Staring me in the face was the mini donut pan.

So this was my sign…I was to make donuts that night.  I was thinking about what kind I wanted to make .. the cool thing about donuts is you can make the batter one flavor, the frosting another flavor, and then add on toppings…so you can really play around with what flavors go well together. Welp, my office-mate bought one of those huge bags of hershey’s nuggets…you know?  with the variety of nuggets…okay, maybe you don’t, but the best kind in there is the chocolate with almonds and toffee.  He knows I have a huge sweet tooth, so even when I try to stay away form these delicious little nuggets all day, he practically throws them at me.  It’s horrible…butttt the chocolate almond toffee combo is soooooooo fantastic.  I wanted to try making this into a little mini donut – Almond Frosted Chocolate (mini) Donuts w/ Toffee Crumbles

I found a good chocolate donut recipe here.  But I’ll share the step-by-steps to help you make your own!  Makes approx 2 & 1/2 dozen.

Ingredients

1 & 1/4 cup all purpose flour

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup almond milk

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

4 tsps butter, melted

2 tbsps coffee

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp almond extract

1/2 bag Heath toffee bits

For the frosting, I REALLY wasn’t in the mood to make my own and get confectionary powdered sugar all over my countertops…I just bought plain frosting and added in the almond extract.  Here’s how to make the donuts!!

1) Preheat oven to 325oF and grease donut pan

2) In a bowl, sift flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt

3)  In a separate large bowl, whisk milk, sugar, egg, butter, coffee, and vanilla.

4)  Mix in flour mixture…chocolate deliciousness.

5)  Put the batter into the donut pan, about 3/4 the way up.

6)  Bake for 8 minutes!

7)  Let these guys cool completely before frosting.  If you don’t the frosting will just melt off.  I went and worked out to let the time pass…but mostly because I knew I’d be taste testing.

8)  For the frosting, I just mixed about 2/3 cup plain frosting, with almond extract.  Add in as much almond extract as you think…just be careful because a little adds a lot of flavor.

9)  Frost the donut and then dip into toffee bits laid out on a plate.

Annnndd your done.  SO Good!  I don’t know if you know, but I love dunkin donuts, they have this contest (i think every year) for people to submit donut ideas, they lay out the donut-type, the frosting-type, and toppings…I never won with my s’more submission, but I think this is a winner.

They are mini so the calories are negligible.

Leave a Reply

